top of page
Search
  • nataschapearson

Cannabis during Pregnancy

Updated: May 11, 2021

by Natascha Pearson

Humboldt County, California

May 11, 2021

2:03pm





As we live in a controversial society, we hush specific topics about things that are taboo. I'm at fault for doing this (at first) about my cannabis intake during pregnancy. Even though I live in an area where cannabis use is acceptable, not everyone will have the same opinion as I do on the topic. Furthermore, in states where it is illegal, flower smoking, pregnant mamas are seeking out acceptance and information just like I had in the beginning of my pregnancy. I know that something that is right for me might not be suitable for everyone, and instead of exploring my perspective, I had kept quiet and even lived in self-denial. So right now at twenty-eight weeks pregnant, I would like to open up about how I feel about smoking during pregnancy.


I smoke weed, and I eat edibles. I prefer eating edibles while I'm pregnant compared to smoking because it's easier on my lungs and it's a more comfortable way for me to digest THC. I did take a break from smoking the first three months of pregnancy. The First Trimester is when the baby experiences the most development. I believe that in an ideal pregnancy, it is best to avoid the intake of THC since the child is being exposed, but I also don't think it harms the baby. The less stressed the mother is, the better her body is equipped to provide a nurturing environment. Stress while pregnant, even in the early stages, passes down cortisol hormones to the child, which causes them to experience high stress levels later in life.


Through the parent's and their children's experiences I've encountered, I feel that there is enough proof that cannabis during pregnancy does not cause harm or defects to the child. Of course, like with anything a pregnant woman intakes (soda, caffeine, refined sugars), too much THC can damage the child and even the adult. Still, with moderation, cannabis effectively reduces the mother's stress level, increases appetite, and helps with insomnia without harming the child.


The first three months of pregnancy, I might have smoked once or twice. Later on, I would incorporate eating edibles and smoking at night into an everyday routine. I have become more creative with the edibles I make, becoming a kitchen witch of sorts. As a seasoned smoker, I don't feel floored or dysfunctional. Just the opposite, I go through my daily routine with a calm mind, and I'm able to fit more into my work schedule while high on marijuana compared to feeling stressed about work and being unable to manage anxieties.


I still hear about CPS stepping in on birthing mother's whose child has THC in their bloodstream. Without proof that THC negatively alters the child's life, there is no reason parents should be intervened by CPS, especially during postpartum. Unfortunately, this is still a fear in holistic mothers who want to create a comfortable and less stressful pregnancy experience. The doctor's recommendation is to stop smoking 30 days before delivery so that all the THC is out of you and the child's systems before giving birth.


Finding organic weed to avoid any chemical consumption can be a big step in creating a healthy relationship between THC and pregnancy. There is not enough proof that THC causes attention and learning disabilities, but there is more than enough proof that stress during pregnancy can cause these types of problems, as well as, low birth weight, premature birth, social anxieties, and struggles with self-esteem.


When I talked to my doctor about smoking while pregnant, she wanted me to keep in mind that whatever I intake, my child will. I hope to be open with my child and communicate with him about his development and how I medicate(d) myself when he is old enough to understand. Cannabis during pregnancy shouldn't be taboo. It should be the mother's decision, and information on the subject should be widely available to her to make an informed choice. A clean body is my best recommendation for pregnancy, but a stress-free body will have more benefits than a clean body that suffers from anxiety and stress.



11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page